Promises of Blessing and Cursing

Copyright (c) 2017, E. Thone Hall

2 Chronicles‬ ‭7:15-21‬ ‭KJV‬‬

“Now mine eyes shall be open, and mine ears attent unto the prayer that is made in this place. For now have I chosen and sanctified this house, that my name may be there for ever: and mine eyes and mine heart shall be there perpetually. And as for thee, if thou wilt walk before me, as David thy father walked, and do according to all that I have commanded thee, and shalt observe my statutes and my judgments; Then will I stablish the throne of thy kingdom, according as I have covenanted with David thy father, saying, There shall not fail thee a man to be ruler in Israel. But if ye turn away, and forsake my statutes and my commandments, which I have set before you, and shall go and serve other gods, and worship them; Then will I pluck them up by the roots out of my land which I have given them; and this house, which I have sanctified for my name, will I cast out of my sight, and will make it to be a proverb and a byword among all nations. And this house, which is high, shall be an astonishment to every one that passeth by it; so that he shall say, Why hath the Lord done thus unto this land, and unto this house?”

We must look at the structure of the verses to understand the meaning. 

The first verse is a promise of God about what he wants His people to do with the temple:

   1.God’s eyes shall be open

   2.His ears will listen prayers given here

This requires 3 conditions upon Solomon:

   1. Walk as David walked

   2. Do what God commands you

   3. Do God’s laws

Next, the results of living up to the 3 conditions:

   1. Solomon will be established in the throne like David

   2. Solomon’s offspring will also be king of Israel

However, if he does not live up to the conditions:

   1. Solomon’s offspring will be removed from the Promised Land

   2. The Temple will be ignored by the Lord and will be laughed at by all who see it

   3. The Temple will no longer serve of God’s goodness and love for his people (that he would live amount them)

___________________________________________

Now, this is an obvious blessing and curse to Solomon, but I believe this has a wonderful parallel in a Christian believer today.

God wants to bless us by:

   1. Watching us day to day

   2. Listening to our prayers

Thus, we must:

   1. Walk in the footsteps of great Christian role models

   2. Do what God commands of us

   3. Live the lifestyle he expects of us

This allows him to bless us with:

   1. Family harmony and unity

   2. A new generation of Christian children

However, if we don’t walk the walk as witness to our family we should expect:

    1. Children not in the faith

    2. Our personal witness to be blunted

    3. Our usefulness for God greatly diminished 

Leave a Reply

