The Sacrifice of The Lamb of God

Copyright (c) 2017, E. Thone Hall

John‬ ‭1:29-34 KJV

“The next day John seeth Jesus coming unto him, and saith, Behold the Lamb of God, which taketh away the sin of the world. This is he of whom I said, After me cometh a man which is preferred before me: for he was before me. And I knew him not: but that he should be made manifest to Israel, therefore am I come baptizing with water. And John bare record, saying, I saw the Spirit descending from heaven like a dove, and it abode upon him. And I knew him not: but he that sent me to baptize with water, the same said unto me, Upon whom thou shalt see the Spirit descending, and remaining on him, the same is he which baptizeth with the Holy Ghost. And I saw, and bare record that this is the Son of God.”

It is very interesting to study this scripture in John (rather than another gospel) because it is clear how early in Jesus’s ministry this event occurs. This is very much in conflict with the “average” movie version. This occurs before any of the disciples are with Him: He finds Andrew, and then his brother Peter in verses 35-42. He calls Philip and Nathanael in verses 43-51. In the next chapter, He performs His first miracle.

John (the Baptist) immediately recognizes Jesus for who He is and why He has come: “Behold the Lamb of God, which taketh away the sin of the world.”. He then relates an earlier Prophesy he made: “This is he of whom I said, After me cometh a man which is preferred before me: for he was before me.” He then gives A very interesting testimony implying that though he likely knew his cousin, he did not recognize the Godly side of Jesus’s character until a special even occurred as he had been told of God: “And I knew him not: but that he should be made manifest to Israel, therefore am I come baptizing with water. And John bare record, saying, I saw the Spirit descending from heaven like a dove, and it abode upon him. And I knew him not: but he that sent me to baptize with water, the same said unto me, Upon whom thou shalt see the Spirit descending, and remaining on him, the same is he which baptizeth with the Holy Ghost. And I saw, and bare record that this is the Son of God.”

So thus was the Lamb of God presented to the world. And thus Jesus’s journey to the cross began. Ready to be sacrificed, not just for the Jew’s but the whole world.

Leave a Reply

